Edith Cowan University Professional Development Award Winners 2017

Tracey Lee Edwards, Kurongkurl Katitjin, Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research

Tracey Lee Edwards is the Communications and Events Officer from Kurongkurl Katitjin, Edith Cowan University’s Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research. Some of her work achievements include the launch of ECU’s inaugural Reconciliation Action Plan, successful implementation of ECU’s annual NAIDOC Celebration of Art and Culture Exhibition events and establishing ECU’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Alumni. Tracey will use the funds to assist with travel costs to attend and present at the World Indigenous Peoples Conference on Educations (WIPCE) 2017 in Toronto, Canada. WIPCE provides a platform for all Indigenous peoples to collectively share combined educational and cultural knowledge. Hosting WIPCE 2020 in Perth would be of great prestige to ECU, WA and the broader Australian community.

Karen McDavitt, School of Arts & Humanities – South West Campus

Karen is a lecturer in the Social Work program at the Bunbury campus of Edith Cowan University. She is a member of the School Social Workers (SSW) practice group under the auspice of the Australian Association of Social Workers, Western Australian branch. Karen will use the award to attend the Seventh International School Social Workers Conference 2017 in Beijing, China. She also plans to attend the National Conference of School Social Work 2018 to be held in Ohio, USA. Karen plans to present a bid for Perth to host the 2019 International School Social Workers Conference – increasing the knowledge and research activity of school social workers in Western Australia.
Edith Cowan University Aspire Award Winners 2017Tracey Lee Edwards, ECU Vice-Chancellor Professor Steve Chapman and Karen McDavitt